Discussion | Reading Before Watching

, , ,

Hi folks, I bring you something of a discussion post regarding something that has been on my mind recently – reading before watching. Let me clarify – reading a book before watching the adaptation.

I think I speak for all of us readers when I say that we tend to hold to the sanctity of the source material whenever a television or film adaptation is announced – if it’s a favourite book we probably worry and fret about whether a production team is about to completely ruin something precious to us. Likewise, we might just be excited to see a story we love come to the big or small screen, and look forward to more people experiencing that story, in whatever format that is.

But, readers, I have a dilemma: what do you do when a new series is announced, based on a book, and you haven’t read the book – do you wait for the TV show so that the adaptation is new and fresh for you, or do you read the book beforehand? My instinct obviously tells me to read the book first before watching the adaptation but part of me always wonders if I’m not potentially dampening my enjoyment of the TV show or film. After all – I know what is going to happen then, and nothing is shocking or unexpected (unless they completely diverge from the source material).

nightmanagerI was thinking about this yesterday as I was doing a re-watch of The Night Manager series and had an inclination to re-read the book again. I recalled that, despite having read the book back in February 2016, before the miniseries started airing, I was still overwhelmingly tense and on the edge of my seat whilst watching the adaptation. Now, admittedly, some of that is because I have a slight inclination towards Tom Hiddleston (understatement of the century) so, you know, what you gonna do… but aside from that I also was tense because I wasn’t sure what was going to happen. In the effort to modernise the source material and make it more relevant for a 2016 audience, the production team had made the decision to change some key elements of the story. This meant that, though I had read the source material, it didn’t ruin my enjoyment of the series by “spoiling” any of the plot’s twists and turns. But not all adaptations are like this.

howardsendLast night I picked up Howards End by E.M. Forster. After having read A Room with a View last week and found myself pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it and how readable I found Forster’s writing style, I decided to give Forster’s most famous novel a read. Then I remembered that the BBC are producing a miniseries of the book which is due to be released later this year starring Hayley Atwell and Matthew MacFadyen (I am sure there are plenty of others too but, I mean, my priority will always be Hayley Atwell because she’s Hayley Atwell). I had a moment of pause then – surely every little twist and turn of the adaptation would be spoiled if I read the novel first? After all, period dramas based on classics or modern classics do tend to push for faithfulness to the source material, for fear of upsetting the delicate sensibilities of readers and their expectations. So if I read the book, would I be as inclined towards watching the series, when it did air on TV?

Despite this momentary dilemma, I am fully aware that it will not stop me from reading the book – as a reader I will always lean towards the side of the primacy of the book, regardless of how excited I am to see an adaptation on the big or small screen, and the book will probably always win. But that doesn’t mean the adaptation won’t put up a damn good fight…

But beware: on the other side of the coin lurks a trap, a trap that I often fall into. On the occasions when I do see a film or TV show adapted from a book first, even if I end up loving the adaptation, sometimes I never quite get around to reading the book afterwards. I know, I know, I’m a terrible reader! After all, I know what happens in the story, so reading the story suddenly isn’t quite as high priority as all the other books on my TBR. I know how it goes, I know how it ends, I’ve experienced the story, regardless of the format it was in… and there are so many other stories that I haven’t experienced yet that deserve my time and attention. This happened with another le Carré book – Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. I had embarked on a mission to read the book once upon a time, got super confused, and abandoned it. Then I watched the 2011 film starring Gary Oldman as George Smiley, and, though I thoroughly enjoyed it, the book suddenly didn’t really seem a priority any more. I knew so what was the point any more?

Well, Emma, I’m sure the book is much more nuanced, I hear you say, to which I say: touché. And so the vicious cycle keeps on spinning…

Do you have this dilemma too? Do you have to make sure you read a book before watching its TV or film adaptation – or does it not bother you so much? Do you think the effect of a TV or film adaptation is sometimes “spoiled” because you know what’s going to happen, because you read the book first? Does this cause anyone else as much indecision as it does me? On the more positive note – what TV/film adaptations are you looking forward to in the future? Chat to me in the comments below, I’d love to talk adaptations!


Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Bloglovin’

3 responses to “Discussion | Reading Before Watching”

  1. I err to the side of book first, film second HOWEVER there are some films I saw first (and the 1980s Merchant Ivory production of Howard’s End was one of them) that I really enjoyed – https://booksaremyfavouriteandbest.wordpress.com/2013/07/09/actually-i-saw-the-film-first-and-it-was-quite-good/

    The problem with film first is that it forms a visual of the characters that is impossible to shift once you start reading.

    I usually rush to read a book if I know the movie is coming out but quite honestly, I’m going to stop doing this, primarily because I sit in the movie comparing the minute detail to the book because the book is so fresh in my mind. I did this recently with Girl on a Train and the friend who I saw it with was ready to gag me because I kept saying “This wasn’t like the book…”!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tend to want to read the book beforehand but sometimes that never happens because my curiosity will get the better of me. However I watch a lot of tv series that were initially based on books but then deviated and became their own entity. Except from Shadowhunters, I’ve really liked it when this has happened as I just see it as an expansion of the author’s world, and if it is a period setting, then the producers and script writers can use actual historical events to augment the initial story. One that immediately comes to my mind is Murdoch Mysteries set in late 19th/early 20th Century Toronto, although with that show, I didn’t realise it was based/ influenced by a series of books before I started watching it. When I watched one episode that did use the plot from one of the books (Let Loose the Dogs) I didn’t really feel spoiled, in fact it just made me enjoy it more.

    It is a tricky one though.

    If I had this discussion with my sister she would suggest watching the TV or film adaptation first before reading the books, but then that is just the way her mind works.

    I don’t think there are any adaptations I am looking forward to as I am not sure which ones are coming out or not. However I read something last week/couple of weeks ago that suggested that the screen writer for BBC’s Call the Midwife (Heidi Thomas) wants to do an adaptation of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women, so I’d be intrigued to see how that works out as that is one of my favourite classics. I also tend to prefer the BBC’s adaptations of classics over those of other studios so it will be interesting to see what happens.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.