Bout of Books 17 | Stating My Intentions

That’s right, you read the title correctly – it’s Bout of Books time again!

I took part in the last round of this readathon (Bout of Books 16 funnily enough) and I thoroughly enjoyed myself, so I thought why not commit myself to it again? If nothing else this low-key readathon is very much my speed due to its low commitment nature and lack of TBR requirements – and I consider it a success when I just read during the readathon week, to be honest. For those who are unaware of the readathon, here’s a handy blurb for you:

YKdCOt4The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 22nd and runs through Sunday, August 28th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

It’s always nice to have some (good) intentions planned for a readathon, even if those are thrown out of the window once the week actually gets underway.

My Goals

I plan to read all week, for at least 30 minutes a day. I’m currently still unemployed (boo, hiss) so I have no work commitments, but I am spending quite a bit of time applying for jobs, so I figure 30 minutes a day is very manageable. And hopefully I can easily exceed that since I’ve set the bar so low. (Yes, this is how I like to live my life too.)

I would also like to interact on Twitter with fellow Bout of Book-ers. I’m quite bad at doing this because I either get distracted by Twitter too easily and forget to do the actual reading part of a readathon OR I stay off Twitter because I’m too busy trying to read.

As far as a TBR goes, I have this stack to choose from:

1. A Storm of Swords Part Two: Blood and Gold by George R.R. Martin
2. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
3. Half-Bad by Sally Green
4. Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch
5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

There’s no possibility in the slightest that I will finish this entire stack but I like to have a variety of books to choose from. I need to read A Storm of Swords to continue with my thus-far-successful #readasoiaf readalong. The second option is because it’s a tiny but important book (pamphlet?) and I’ve had it out of the library for coming up to 3 months so that’s disgraceful behaviour on my part. The last three options are simply because I saw said authors at YALC this year and I really want to read their work now, especially Sally Green who was so endearingly… normal (I guess?) and self-deprecating that I immediately warmed to her.

Of course, it’s entirely likely something else will accidentally catch my eye this week and I’ll deviate from this TBR stack but, like I said before, good intentions are the most important things. And with that, let’s readathon!

Are you participating in Bout of Books? Have you previously? If not – consider it! Let me know in the comments if you are because I’d love to see your TBR and cheer you on throughout the week.


Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books 17 | Stating My Intentions

Leave a Reply

