Friday Reads | 30th September

Well, it’s that time of the week again – the time when I realise I haven’t done quite as much reading as I would like in these past few days and so I foolishly try to claim I’m going to make up for it by reading, reading, reading this weekend. I inevitably won’t but, hey, good intentions are the best kind of intentions. Or so I hear.

Today and into this weekend might potentially be very busy with very boring tasks – the arduous process of unpacking the rest of my belongings which are being brought over to my new abode by my parents this evening. They’ll only be staying with me tonight and they’re off early tomorrow morning so whilst I doubt that will dissuade me from reading, I probably should immediately unpack the (many) boxes they bring with them rather than procrastinating that task by reading. Still, if I get that done early then I’ll have a lot of the weekend for reading… whilst I’m waiting for the coats of paint I’m painting my room with to dry. Fun, fun, fun.

Yesterday I finished my re-read of Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey, a re-read which I did because I had fallen into kind of a funk with only reading (YA) fantasy recently. I picked up a book I was sure to love and wouldn’t be too hefty to carry with me on the train to/from work. I really enjoyed the change of pace/tone that reading this classic this week provided – but now I’m hoping to try to get back to the fantasy I’m in the middle of with some kind of renewed vigor.

So, in the same vein I intend to read some of the following:

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I’ve been re-reading this one in preparation for picking up A Torch Against the Night which has arrived since I started the re-read but I have yet to get to it because I seem to be taking forever to read the first book! I intend to remedy that this weekend. I even made a start on the train this morning since I happened to have my Kindle with me which, luckily, had An Ember in the Ashes loaded onto it. I hope to continue reading on my train journey home and maybe I’ll pick up the physical copy again this weekend. I really want to try to finish it asap so I can move onto the sequel!

A Feast For Crows by George R.R. Martin

I’ve been reading this one for waaaay too long. I was meant to have it finished this month, as part of the #readasoiaf readalong. I highly doubt that will be happening, since I have some 600 pages to read and the end of the month is today! Still, I hope to finish it sometime next week so I’m not too far behind with the readalong – we’re meant to be moving onto A Dance With Dragons in October. I really don’t want to crash and burn out of the readalong since I’ve got this far and I know if I tried to pick up the series again sometime next year instead, I would have to re-read the volumes I’ve already read because I undoubtedly would have forgotten what had happened. I don’t have time for that, so I need to continue. Yes, it’s a need.


So there we have it, that was my Friday Reads.
Do you have any books lined up for today and into this weekend?
What are you currently reading? Let me know in the comments below!


Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads | 30th September

  1. Diana 30/09/2016 / 12:35

    all the best with unpacking. The packing and unpacking is the most stressful bit of moving. Just thinking about it makes me want to stay in current apartment forever lol Enjoy your books this weekend. I am currently reading Jane Eyre for the first time.

    • Emma 30/09/2016 / 13:28

      Thank you! :) I’m anticipating half-unpacking a lot of things throughout this weekend. It’ll get done eventually, slowly but surely haha.

      How are you liking Jane Eyre? I must admit, I found it a bit of a struggle to get into it at first, but it’s Jane Eyre so you kind of have to try!

Leave a Reply

