Top Ten Tuesday | All About The Visuals

toptentuesdayIt’s yet another Tuesday, so that means another Top Ten Tuesday! For those who don’t know, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the book bloggers and list lovers, The Broke and the Bookish, and each week they post a topic for bloggers to respond to.

This week’s topic is All about the visuals: Top Ten Favorite Graphic Novels/Comics or Ten Comics on My TBR or Top Ten Favorite Picture Books. Now, before booktube and book blogging, graphic novels didn’t even enter onto my radar. I’d vaguely read a couple of Simpsons comics at some point in my life, and a school friend had tried to get me to read manga, but it was never something I reached for, or even knew anything about.

Reading blogs and watching videos has made me a little more aware of what is out there in the graphic novel and comic book genre but it’s still not something I’d consider myself well versed in. However, I have started reading a few examples that I adored so I thought this week could be essentially two Top Fives for the price of one – the first my Top 5 Graphic Novels and the second my Top 5 Graphic Novels on my TBR that I really want to read in the future.

Without further ado, let’s see the graphic novels…

TOP FIVE GRAPHIC NOVELS

5. The Arrival by Shaun Tan

Less of a graphic novel, more of a picture book, The Arrival features absolutely no dialogue but tonnes of stunning art. I adored the art style of this book and if I hadn’t borrowed it from the library I definitely would have been tempted to tear out some of the pages and frame them on my wall. Seriously, they’re that stunning.

4. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

This is beautiful. I’m sure I’m about to say that for all of these graphic novels but it’s really true for Hugo Cabret. I’m a sucker for anything involving clockwork or mechanisms and this had that in droves as well as a lovely black-and-white style colour scheme. It completely fits with the story it is telling and I loved it.

3. Chew by John Layman and Rob Guillory

This always reminded me of Pushing Daises, except grosser and less quirky. The concept and its art style is equally parts disgusting and awesome. Tony Chu is a police detective cibopath which means when he tastes something he can sort of “see” its history i.e. if he bit a corpse he’d be able to see what happened to the person to kill them.

2. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

I basically looked into this graphic novel because it seemed cute and quirky and the art style was used for the cover of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, all of which seemed like plenty enough reasons to check it out. It has all sorts of wonderful fantasy and sci-fi tropes mashed together in a hilarious way and I really thoroughly enjoyed my time reading it.

1. Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Ok, I’ve only read the first three volumes so far… but I think it’s safe to say that nothing could happen in the three I have left to read to be caught up that could make me suddenly start hating the series. I didn’t think I was really into sci-fi that much, let alone space opera, and then I read this, and it’s just so wonderful and everything that I do love about that branch of sci-fi. Epic, weird, and wonderful seems to just about sum up Saga. 

TOP 5 GRAPHIC NOVELS ON MY TBR

5. Blankets by Craig Thompson

I believe this is an autobiographical graphic novel and I have next to no clue what it is about… truthfully? I just think its cover is beautiful. I haven’t really read many picture books or graphic novels that are strictly autobiographical (I think Maus is literally the only other one) so it will be interested to see that explored in that format too.

4. Sex Criminals by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

I’m intrigued by the concept and if you don’t know it then let me break it down for you – two people discover that they both have this power where when they orgasm, time stops, so naturally they team up and use their power to rob a bank. Obv. I’m not entirely sure if the art style is for me but, hey, I’m intrigued enough by where they go with the concept.

3. The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg

Yet another example of a graphic novel that I know little about but I know that I really like the art style so obviously I would like to own it and read it and stare at it over and over again. All I can assume is this tells the tale (or talemaybe?) of an early civilisation on Earth? I presume, I mean, it’s not a really ridiculous gamble of a guess but all I know is that art is really cute and I need it.

2. East of West by Jonathan Hickman and Nick Dragotta

Whenever I see reviews of this on Booktube, it seems to have quite mixed reviews, in part because it’s apparently a bit complicated to follow?? I don’t know, I’m not sure. But what I do know about it is that it’s a sci-fi Western set in a dystopian United States that is “present day” and… well, that’s enough to make me curious. I hear tell it has something to do with the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse and I love crap like that (see also: Good Omens) so I need to read this one day.

1. The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil by Stephen Collins

Every time I go into Waterstones, I head to the graphic novel section and I take this book out and just have a good stare at it for a little while. (Liz can definitely attest to this fact; I’ve shown her it multiple times.) If nothing else, I need to finally read this so that I stop doing that. This seems, on the surface, to be a fairly basic exploration of ‘us vs them’ mentality, though I have heard that it actually ends up being wonderfully profound and relevant to a lot of the conflict that is going on around the world right now. I’m intrigued to find out if that’s true.


Well, that’s all folks – that was my Top Ten (kind of) Graphic Novels.
Are you a big graphic novel or comics fan?
Is it a format you reach for or not so much?
Let me know in the comments and if you have your own Top Ten Tuesday please do feel free to link it below!


Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Bloglovin’

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday | All About The Visuals

  1. Liz Whitehouse 31/01/2017 / 23:17

    I feel like you must be close to finishing The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil by now…surely?

    This also reminds me that I need to read Chew!

    Like

Leave a Reply

