Top Ten Tuesday | Books on my Spring TBR

toptentuesdayIt’s yet another Tuesday, so that means another Top Ten Tuesday! For those who don’t know, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the book bloggers and list lovers, The Broke and the Bookish, and each week they post a topic for bloggers to respond to.

This week’s topic is Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR. I do love a good TBR – it’s all about those good intentions, isn’t it?

There have been various series with new books released at the start of this year that I haven’t yet gotten around to but that I am SO ready for, especially now I’ve re-read/am in the process of re-reading the books that preceded them. There are also a couple of new shiny shiny books that apparently are the start of new series which is also really exciting… even though my bank balance cries a little in anticipation of that. Let’s just focus on the books… here is my Spring TBR

1. The Song Rising (The Bone Season #3) – Samantha Shannon

It’s the third book in Samantha Shannon’s The Bone Season so obviously I preordered it and this is on my TBR. In fact I’d already be reading it if it wasn’t for wanting to reread the first two beforehand.

2. A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) – V.E. Schwab

VE Schwab has this way of making me fear for her characters whilst also reveling in the drama and shenanigans, this final book in the trilogy will be no exception I’m sure.

(Spoiler alert because I’ve already read it – it was everything I wanted and more and some bits I didn’t really want to happen but it’s ok in the end because my precious little idiot children!)

3. The Dark Days Pact (Lady Helen #2) – Alison Goodman

I adored the first book in the Lady Helen series – think Jane Austen meets Buffy – so clearly I am itching to read the second book and find out what larks Helen and Carlston get up to in Bath.

4. Caraval (Caraval #1)- Stephanie Garber

The marketing on this book got me hook line and sinker. I’ve heard some not brilliant reviews if I’m honest and a lot of that seems to be due to expectations raised through the marketing. I will reserve judgment until I read it but I definitely need to read it soon so I don’t accidentally see spoilers.

5. Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1)- Laini Taylor

Laini Taylor’s writing style is downright gorgeous, so when this book was announced it immediately was pre-ordered by yours truly. I kind of don’t know much about this but a vague synopsis and I feel like that’s plenty – I can’t wait to get my hands on this.
And now let’s move onto my ongoing series re-reads for Spring, with one which is a continuation of a series I loved when I was younger and am only now just getting caught up with its new releases!

6. The Ersatz Elevator (ASOUE #6) – Lemony Snicket

Following on from watching the Netflix adaptation (which I adored by the way), I decided to re-read the entire series… and then somewhat stalled. I need to get back into the habit of speeding through one of these tiny books to break up my reading of longer novels.

7. The Vile Village (ASOUE #7) – Lemony Snicket

See above.

8. The Hostile Hospital (ASOUE #8) – Lemony Snicket

See above again.

9. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5) – JK Rowling

I’m re-reading the Harry Potter series just because… wait like I need to even give a reason to the Internet when it comes to HP? I’ve decided to borrow the audiobooks via my library’s Overdrive system though so I’m really enjoying having Stephen Fry narrate the books during my train journey to/from work. This one is still on my Spring TBR because hey I don’t know if you guys realised but this book is uh kind of long??

10. Clariel (The Old Kingdom #4) – Garth Nix

I reread Garth Nix’s Old Kingdom trilogy recently specifically because I wanted to finally get to a couple of newer additions to the series. I used to love Sabriel, Lirael, and Abhorsen back when this was a mere trilogy but now that more books have been added and it’s become a series I feel like I definitely need to catch up and revisit this world I adored when I was younger. A must read for Spring!

 

If I were delusional I’d also include War and Peace on this list because it’s becoming something of an ongoing joke that I am “Currently Reading” it but haven’t even opened it since early February. I refuse to admit that I’ve completely given up on it and am setting it aside – I will not say it, no, I shall remain in this delusion! But I think having these ten books above on my Spring TBR is quite ambitious enough without delving into the depths of Russian literature… still, we shall see!


Well, that’s all folks – that was my Top Ten Books on my Spring TBR.
What books are on your Spring TBR?
Let me know in the comments and if you have your own Top Ten Tuesday please do feel free to link it below!


Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

